Explaining Nevada Law: Trespassing
Nevada’s trespassing law is found in Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) Chapter 207 Section 200, 203 and 204. Section 200’s verbiage says that when “any person…” not involved in a burglary “goes upon the land or into any building of another with intent to vex or annoy the owner or occupant thereof, or to commit any unlawful act” or “willfully goes or remains upon any land or in any building after having been warned by the owner or occupant thereof not to trespass” is guilty of the misdemeanor of trespassing.
Proper and legal ways to inform others not to trespass on property
The following two sections, 203 and 204, disallow those found guilty of prostitution from entering Casinos, and if found will be in violation of the trespass law, and also finds that base jumpers are also guilty of trespass, unless it is part of an emergency or has been properly permitted.
A couple of other sections discuss issues with putting up No Trespassing signs without the owner’s permission, and also indicates that destruction of trespassing signs as a misdemeanor.
In our state, being asked to leave a casino or other place of business, or returning to the premise after being asked to leave can put you in violation of Nevada’s trespassing statutes.
Being charged with trespassing
Chances are if you are charged with trespassing, you will also have other charges included, which can make the cost of the trespass quite high. The misdemeanor of trespassing by itself carries a penalty of up to six months in county jail and/or a $1,000 fine. Trespassing with a firearm, or other deadly weapon, is a class B felony, and trespassing with a camera is a gross misdemeanor, which carries a penalty of up to a year in jail, and/or a fine of up to $2,000.
Regardless of the circumstances, entanglement with the criminal justice system is not something that most people want, and even if the fine is light, the criminal act remains on your record, which can complicate background checks used to qualify for employment or credit.
We can help if you have been charged with trespassing. We will supply you with the legal options available, give you sound legal advice and will defend you in court. Our attorneys have represented others in this situation and have the knowledge and skills to present a defense that will withstand argument and give you the best chance of a favorable verdict.
Call us today to discuss your situation at (702) 333-3333.
“I will always recommend The Defenders to anyone who needs their services! Great staff and they fight for you!” – Jared Taylor