Domestic Violence Defense Attorney in Las Vegas, Nevada
Domestic violence charges are extremely common within the Las Vegas area and can occur between family members, those in a romantic relationship, or roommates. In the State of Nevada, there are harsh penalties that follow a domestic violence charge.
This crime is a violent or aggressive behavior within the home, typically involving the violent abuse of a spouse or partner. This charge can have detrimental effects on your life as well as bring forth an unwanted reputation. If you have been charged with domestic violence, it is important you hire a good Las Vegas criminal defense attorney so you can get the protection you need. Domestic violence charges are serious and need the attention of an experienced and responsible attorney.
Unfortunately, domestic violence charges are something that people are frequently falsely accused of, especially if the accuser has reason to be jealous, angry, or resentful. This is often the case in many domestic violence cases that are part of divorce proceedings or child custody situations.
Sometimes, the violence that occurred was self-defense, or it may have simply been an accident. The Defenders realize domestic violence charges usually involve unique circumstances, and we are committed to thoroughly investigating every possible scenario.
Our first step would be to build a successful defense that will prevail in court, by reducing your charges or getting the case dismissed, keeping your criminal record clear.
Harsh Penalties for Domestic Violence
If you have been accused of domestic violence, you will be facing harsh penalties from the State of Nevada and the unwanted social stigma that follows a domestic violence charge. For your first domestic violence charge within seven years, you are looking at the following penalties:
- A misdemeanor charge
- Jail time ranging from two days to six months
- 48 to 120 hours of community service
- Fines ranging from $200 to $1,000
If you have been charged with a second domestic violence offense within seven years of your first one, the penalties you now face will greatly increase. You need an experienced lawyer to help you get the charges dropped or reduced. For a second domestic violence charge within seven years, you are looking at the following penalties:
- A misdemeanor charge
- Jail time ranging from ten days to six months
- Fines ranging from $500 to $1,000
- 100 to 200 hours of community service
- Weekly counseling sessions for at least 12 months, at the client’s expense
If you face a third domestic violence charge within seven years, the penalties are more severe:
Domestic Violence with Strangulation
Any kind of domestic violence act where strangulation was used or battery that resulted in substantial bodily injury without the use of a deadly weapon will be guilty of a Category C felony and:
- One to five years in a State Prison
- Fines no more than $15,000
Any kind of domestic violence battery with the use of a deadly weapon that did or did not result in substantial bodily harm will result in a Category B felony and:
- Two to 15 years in a State Prison
- Mandatory fine of $10,000
Domestic Violence Plea Bargain
Domestic violence charges are not only emotionally and physically draining, but the legal consequences can be severe and life-altering. If you have found yourself being charged with a domestic violence charge, you need an experienced criminal defense attorney who understands the complexities of these cases and can fight for your rights. At The Defenders, we have a track record of success in defending our clients against these charges.
One of the most effective ways to reduce your charges is through a plea bargain. A plea bargain is an agreement between the prosecution and defense where the defendant agrees to plead guilty or no contest to a lesser charge in exchange for a lighter sentence. The severity of your charges will determine if a plea bargain is an option for you. Our skilled attorneys can advise you on whether a plea bargain is right for your case and negotiate with the prosecution to secure the best possible outcome.
Sealing Your Domestic Violence Records
In some cases, your criminal record regarding your domestic violence can be sealed, as long as the necessary conditions are met. It is important to have your record sealed so you are not negatively affected by the charges in the future, as a domestic violence charge carries a negative social appearance and difficulties with future employment or education. Sealing your records is a necessary step but can be a confusing process; luckily, The Defenders are trained in this area and can assist you with the process.
“Greatly appreciate everything The Defenders have helped me with. David and the few other people I spoke with were prompt, and professional and resolved my ticket with ease. They got it reduced to a parking ticket when it would have otherwise hurt my record. I’m extremely happy with the results. Wouldn’t go anywhere else!” – Joselyn Figueroa
Frequently Asked Questions
Can my domestic violence charges be dropped by my accuser?
Unfortunately not. Domestic violence charges cannot be dropped once they are made against the “accused” because it is technically the State of Nevada or the City of Las Vegas bringing the charges against the defendant, not the victim of the violence. If you have been charged with domestic violence, call The Defenders so that we can get you the help you need and the best judgment for your case.
Domestic violence is a violent or aggressive behavior within the home, typically involving the violent abuse of a spouse or partner. It may also involve violence against children, parents, or other family members.
Anyone who engages in violent or abusive behavior towards a family member, romantic partner, or roommate can be charged with domestic violence.
The penalties for domestic violence in Las Vegas are harsh and can have long-term consequences. Depending on the circumstances, a person may be misdemeanor charges with up to 6 months in jail, or felony charges that could result in up to 15 years of prison time. No matter the situation, you need an experienced criminal defense lawyer to help protect your rights and build a successful defense. With their guidance and expertise, they will work tirelessly to get your case dismissed or reduced to lesser charges.
Yes, false accusations of domestic violence are unfortunately common, especially in divorce and child custody proceedings. It’s essential to hire an experienced criminal defense attorney to defend against these charges.
If you’ve been accused of domestic violence, it’s crucial to seek legal representation immediately. An attorney can help build a strong defense and protect your rights.
Yes, with the help of an experienced attorney, it’s possible to reduce or dismiss domestic violence charges, depending on the circumstances of the case.
In some cases, it may be possible to seal your criminal record regarding domestic violence to avoid negative effects on future employment and educational opportunities. An experienced attorney can assist with this process.
Las Vegas Domestic Violence Criminal Defense Attorney – The Defenders
It is important you contact The Defenders immediately so we can start creating an aggressive defense for your case. The Defenders delivers an honest and straightforward response to your charges while providing you with personable and communicative involvement throughout the duration of your case. We’re aggressive when we need to be, compassionate when it counts, and always dedicated to your success. That’s what makes us The Defenders, a proud branch of the Richard Harris Law Firm.
We have the experience and knowledge you need to make sure you get the best judgment for your case. We are available day and night to start the process. Simply fill out our Contact Us form or call us at 702.333.3333.
You don’t have to go through this alone, call us today!
The firm is led by attorney Richard Harris of The Defenders, who is experienced in dozens of criminal law matters. He and his team have helped thousands of people with their cases.