Nevada Sex Offender Guidelines
Nevada does not take sex offender guidelines lightly, and divides convicted sex offenders into three categories. Currently in Nevada, there are about 7,300 convicted sex offenders. Being a convicted sex offender ruins your record, your social reputation, and your chances of employment. Although it is possible to fight the charges, a lot of evidence is needed to prove the defendant innocent.
How Are Sex Offenders Classified?
There are three detailed categories that convicted sex offenders get put into, to make sure they have the right punishment.
“Tier I”: This is the least serious class of sex offenders in the Nevada Sex Offender Registry and is generally reserved for defendants convicted of non-violent sex crimes. Tier 1 crimes include statutory sexual seduction if the defendant is less than 21 years old, administering drugs to another in commission of a violent crime or felony, open or gross lewdness, sexual penetration of a human corpse, or indecent exposure. Offenders are required to register for 15 years, and they must personally check in with the Police Department once a year. Tier 1 offenders are not searchable on the internet, unless the incident was with a child.
“Tier II”: This class is for crimes against children and is the second most serious sex offender crime. Tier 2 crimes include luring, child abuse involving sexual abuse of a child at least 13 years old, sex trafficking, living off the earnings of a prostitute, or child pornography. The victim must be under 18 years old for any of these crimes to be placed into tier 2. Tier 1 offenders can be placed into tier 2 if they are later convicted of another tier 1 offense. Offenders are required to register for 25 years, and they must personally check in with the Police Department once every 180 days. Tier 2 offenders are searchable on the internet, and are never eligible to get off the Nevada Sex Offender Registry early.
“Tier III”: This class is for violent sex crimes and serious crimes involving children, and is the most serious offense. Tier 3 crimes include 1st degree murder in attempt of sexual assault of a child under 14, sexual assault or rape, battery with intent to commit sexual assault, child abuse of a child under 12, kidnapping a child under 18, incest with a victim under 16, or attempt to commit any of these crimes. Tier 3 offenders are required to register for life, and they must personally check in with the Police Department every 90 days. Tier 3 offenders may may be able to get off the Nevada Sex Offender Registry early, if they were accommodating for 25 years and if their crime was a juvenile delinquency. Tier 3 offenders are searchable on the internet for life.
What Are the Sex Offenders Registration Guidelines?
There are steps that you must take if you are a registered sex offender, including:
- Register with the local police department, which includes fingerprints and DNA samples.
- Inform the local police department within 48 hours of changes such as name, address, or employment.
- Inform the local police department when in a location for longer than 30 days after reporting a visit of fewer than 30 days at that location.
- Submit an annual verification report.
- Regularly appear in person at a local police station.
Registered sex offenders are not required to inform their community when they are first registered; however, it is the job of the local police department to inform the community. The local police department is also required to notify every school, youth organization, public housing authority, agencies that provide child welfare services, and volunteer organizations that are in contact with children.
If you are being charged with being a sex offender, you are posing a high risk to your social life as it carries a serious stigma. Police are required to inform many local companies and organizations right away, making it very public. Here, our experienced attorneys can help you understand the details and seriousness of the charges, and what the next best step is.