Nevada Concealed Carry
If you may legally carry or possess firearms in Nevada, you must apply for a permit in order to carry a concealed firearm. An open carry of firearms in Nevada is legal and typically does not require any kind of registration or permit, but those who desire to carry a concealed weapon must follow permit procedures and protocols. Gun laws and requirements in Nevada apply for both in-state and out-of-state residents, especially in regards to open-carry, but non-Nevada residents must have a CCW from a reciprocal state to allow them to carry a concealed firearm in Nevada.
What Do Permits Require?
The requirements for a CCW permit in Nevada include:
- You must be at least 21 years old (or at least 18 years of age with active military or honorable discharge);
- You must not be prohibited from possessing a firearm under Nevada or federal law;
- You must complete a pre-approved firearm safety course; and
- You must pay the appropriate fees.
What is a “Concealed Firearm” in Nevada?
In Nevada, a “concealed firearm” is a handgun, loaded or unloaded, which is carried concealed or hidden on one’s person. This means it may be covered by one’s articles of clothing, carried in a backpack or purse, or other methods of carrying in which one does not see the firearm fixed to the person. Handguns may commonly be hidden under one’s shirt or in a backpack to easily carry it. Without a permit, carrying a concealed firearm is a felony.
What is the Permit Application Process?
To receive their CCW permit, Nevada residents must apply online or at their nearest police station. It may take up to six months to process the application, and if approved, the permit remains valid for five years, unless revoked. Along with other fees, shown below, a non-refundable fingerprint and investigation processing fee is required at the time the application is submitted. This payment will be requested and processed through a secured site that will be sent via email after the application has been accepted as complete. Here are the fees associated with a CCW permit and application:
- New application – $100.25
- Renewal application – $65.25
- Late renewal application – $80.25
- Renewal application, more than 365 days late – $100.25
- Name change fee – $25.00
- Duplicate permit/late fee/address change – $15.00
- Additional fingerprint cards for out-of-state applications – $15.00 and $2.00 for each additional card needed
NOTE: Any name changes, issues with duplication, changes in address or personal information and additional fingerprint cards must be done in person.
What is the Penalty for Concealed Carrying without a Permit?
In the State of Nevada, carrying a concealed firearm without a valid permit is illegal and categorized as a category C felony. Penalties or charges include:
- 1 to 5 years in Nevada State Prison; and up to $10,000 in fines
If you have a valid Nevada CCW permit, but fail to bring it with or carry it with you while carrying your concealed firearm, you will face a $25 fine.
There are many specific locations where firearms are illegal and off limits entirely, whether or not the carrier has a valid CCW permit. Such places include:
- Childcare and day-care facilities
- Public schools
- Post offices
- Nevada schools for higher education, such as College of Southern Nevada, UNLV, UNR, Nevada State College, etc.
Carrying Firearms and Support in Nevada
If you or a loved one has been charged with a violation of Nevada’s concealed carry laws or need assistance from a knowledgeable and experienced team of criminal defense lawyers, we’re here for you. We understand the system and know how to navigate the intricacies to help those faced with any type of criminal charge. Your well-being and, ultimately, safety is our top priority. If you are faced with difficulties regarding carrying a firearm or weapon, we are here to answer any questions you may have and provide any support we can.