Regardless of how many, a DUI charge is an imposing and complex legal matter and should be avoided at all costs. You should seek the representation of a highly qualified attorney to represent you for any DUI charge.
In the state of Nevada, two DUI convictions within a seven-year period are considered misdemeanors if you did not get into an accident which caused serious injury or death to someone else. The third DUI within the seven-year period is considered a felony. Felony DUI can be charged on the first DUI if the incident caused serious injury or death to another party. Once you have been convicted of felony DUI, whether in Nevada or elsewhere, any subsequent DUI will be charged as a felony.
Statutory Punishments for Felony DUI
Punishments associated with DUI’s escalate with the number of times you’ve been convicted. Out-of-state DUI convictions are also considered by Nevada courts to count toward the total.
A third DUI within a seven-year period is considered a category B felony and carries the following punishments. The first felony DUI conviction without death or injury to another party, carries a one- to six-year term in a Nevada State Prison, a fine from $2,000 to $5,000, installation of a Ignition Interlock System (IIS) in your vehicle for three years, driver’s license suspension for three years, and an alcohol treatment program approved by the State of Nevada for three years at your expense.
All subsequent DUI’s will be charged as felony DUI with escalating punishments. A second felony DUI carries a two- to 15-year prison term, fines from $2,000 to $5,000, and IIS installation as a condition of driver’s license reinstatement.
Any DUI charged after an accident which caused serious injury or death to another is considered a category B felony with a sentence of two to 20 years in state prison, fines from $2,000 to $5,000, and IIS installation as a condition of driver’s license reinstatement.
If charged with a DUI which caused death to another and had three previous DUI convictions, it will be charged as Vehicular Homicide, which is a category A felony, with a prison term of 25 years to life with the possibility of parole after 10 years.
Las Vegas DUI Lawyers
The punishments for DUI in Nevada are harsh and become more so if you are charged again. The Defenders lawyers are highly qualified to handle any DUI charge. They provide a strong defense that will minimize the charges to protect your rights. If you have been charged with a DUI, call us to discuss your case today at (702) 333-3333.