Driving violations are common in the state of Nevada, however, they can carry some serious penalties. Being convicted of a driving violation can cause you to incur substantial fines, and can even cause you to lose your driver’s license.
Driving No Insurance
Nevada law requires that the minimum insurance be carried on all vehicles. This is for your protection, as well as for the protection of others. If you are found to be driving without insurance, you will be find and your driver’s license will be suspended. Multiple offenses carry more significant penalties.
Driving W/O License
If you do not have a license to operate a motor vehicle in the state of Nevada, it is a crime to get behind the wheel of a car. The punishments for driving without a license are steep, and include but are not limited to expensive fines and possible jail time.
Driving With Revoked/Suspended License
If you’ve already had your driver’s license suspended, it is illegal to drive. However, you may be caught in some circumstances in which you felt you had no other choice but to drive. Regardless, you will be fined and have the suspension period lengthened among other legal penalties.
Reckless driving is a serious offense and is defined as “driving any vehicle with willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.” If you’ve been charged with reckless driving, you will face serious fines and several points will be added to your driving record.
Losing your driving privileges can impact your life in many negative ways and make it more difficult for you to get to and from your job, school or even simply grocery shopping. You will have to rely on others or public transportation to get where you need to go, which can be exceptionally inconvenient and will eventually take its toll. If you’ve been convicted of a driving violation, call The Defenders today to schedule a consultation to discuss your case. We can prepare the best defense possible to increase your chances of keeping your driving privileges.
Under Nevada law, reckless driving is defined as driving with a “willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.” Reckless driving isn’t just a minor traffic violation – it is a serious offense. Being convicted of this charge can have steep penalties that will impact your life in many different ways. If you’re facing a reckless driving charge, you need to seek legal counsel as soon as possible.
Penalties For Reckless Driving
There are many penalties for reckless driving and which ones the court sentence you to if you are convicted depend on the circumstances surrounding the crime. Possible punishments include:
- Fines between $250 and $2,000 depending on whether it is your first, second or third offense
- One to six years in state prison and/or $2,000 to $5,000 in fines for felony reckless driving
As you can see, reckless driving is no minor infraction. It carries significant penalties and must be taken seriously. The Defenders have had many successes in defending reckless driving cases similar to yours and we want to bring our expertise and resources to your case. We can help you fight the charges against you and keep your driving record clean.
How To Fight Reckless Driving Charges
Speeding in and of itself does not constitute reckless driving charges, however, law enforcement officers often cite reckless driving for cases of increased speed. This is just one of the many defenses against these types of charges, and with a seasoned criminal attorney at your side, you can be confident that you have the best defense possible for your case.
The Defenders are committed to doing everything we can to get the charges against you dismissed or reduced. Let us help you protect your rights and freedoms under the law. Call us today to schedule an appointment for a consultation.
Fleeing and Eluding
Under Nevada law, fleeing & eluding is defined as attempting to evade a police officer who is following you in a marked vehicle, including on motorcycles and bicycles. The penalties for a conviction are steep and can include jail time and fines.
Being arrested is frightening in and of itself, but if you are charged with fleeing & eluding on top of the arrest, you may be confused and unsure of what to do next. Don’t assume that just because you’re being charged with attempting to evade a police officer that you’re automatically going to be convicted of fleeing & eluding. There are many defenses against this charge.
How You Can Fight Fleeing & Eluding Charges
Forming a defense case against fleeing and eluding charges can be quite simple for a seasoned criminal attorney. The Defenders know what strategies to use construct a solid defense that will give you the greatest chance of receiving a “not guilty” verdict in court. Possible defenses for a fleeing & eluding charge include:
- The police officer used the wrong signal to order you to pull over, or his or her signal was broken
- You did not have intent to deliberately evade the police officer
- It was unsafe for you to pull over at the time
Let us help you build a case that will stand up in court and give you the best possibility of having the charges against you dismissed or reduced. Call The Defenders today for a consultation.
Hit & Run
Hit & run charges in the state of Nevada are a very serious matter. Although the crime can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the seriousness of the crime, being convicted of a hit & run can have life damaging consequences.
Misdemeanor Hit & Run
A misdemeanor hit & run is the most common type of hit & run, as it involves property damage only. For example, if you backed into a car in a parking lot and fled without leaving your information, you would be guilty of a misdemeanor hit & run. The penalties of a misdemeanor include:
- Up to a $1,000 fine
- Up to 6 months in a county jail
- 6 demerit points to your license
Felony Hit & Run
If you cause bodily injury or death during the accident and flee the scene without leaving your information, you have committed a felony hit & run. Although the penalties for a misdemeanor hit & run are substantial, they become much more severe if you are convicted of a felony.
- Minimum $2,000 fine, up to $5,000
- 2-15 years in a state penitentiary
- License suspension or revocation
As you can see, hit & run charges are nothing to trifle with. If you’ve been charged with a hit & run, you need to consult with an experienced criminal attorney to determine what your options are and protect your legal rights.
Fighting Hit & Run Charges
A seasoned criminal defense attorney knows the law and can construct a solid defense based on the circumstances surrounding the alleged crime. Possible defenses for hit & run charges include:
- Only your car was damaged in the accident
- You did not know that the accident caused any damage
- You did not know that an accident had taken place
- It was not you who was involved in the accident
The Defenders are seasoned criminal defense lawyers who are committed to fully investigating your case and constructing a defense that will stand up in court. We want to get your hit & run charges reduced or dismissed and will do whatever it takes to protect your rights and freedom. Call us today to make an appointment for a consultation and don’t let hit & run charges leave you with life changing consequences.
Vehicular manslaughter is a very serious charge and the penalties for being convicted are particularly harsh, especially if the manslaughter occurred while you were driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Being arrested for and charged with vehicular manslaughter is a frightening experience and you may be unsure of what to do next. You may feel guilty, confused and disconcerted. We are here to help.
The Defenders are a group of professional, experienced and compassionate lawyers who understand that accidents happen. You shouldn’t have to live with the consequences of something you didn’t mean to have happen for the rest of your life. We believe that you are entitled to the strongest defense possible for your case and will do everything we can to defend you to the best of our ability.
Legal Strategies For Vehicular Manslaughter Charges
We have the knowledge and resources to build a solid defense against vehicular manslaughter. We will:
- Fully investigate your case and the circumstances surrounding it
- Review police reports and witness statements
- Examine photographs and other evidence
- Verify whether or not you truly were driving with negligence
- Verify whether you were committing a traffic violation at the time the vehicular manslaughter occurred
- Reanalyze blood samples for consistency if the presence of drugs or alcohol is suspected
- Reconstruct the accident to determine if you were truly at fault
If you’re facing vehicular manslaughter charges, time is of the essence. Don’t wait for the investigation to be completed before you retain legal counsel. The Defenders will support you throughout the investigation while simultaneously conducting our own investigation and preparing a sound defense for you that will stand up in court.
Don’t let one mistake, one accident or one case of poor judgement ruin your life. We can help. Call us today for a consultation to discuss the charges against you.