According to Nevada law, disorderly conduct can be considered anything that causes a disturbance, such as participating in a fight, challenging someone to a fight, using foul language when talking to another person and harassing another person. Unfortunately, this charge is open to interpretation and which actions do or don’t fall under “disorderly conduct” are subject to the law enforcement officer citing the charge. Almost any offense can be cited this way at the discretion of the officer on the scene.
This makes it quite simple for a police officer to arrest you and cite disorderly conduct as the reason for arrest, especially if he or she is aggravated or angry with you for some reason. Many people have been falsely accused of disorderly conduct for this reason alone, so if you’ve been charged, it’s important to retain a criminal defense attorney who realizes the nature of disorderly conduct charges and has the knowledge to help you fight them in court.
What Will Happen If I Am Convicted Of Disorderly Conduct?
Disorderly conduct is considered one of the least severe crimes in the state of Nevada, however, the consequences for being convicted aren’t negligible.
- Up to $1,000 in fines
- Up to 6 months in jail
- Permanent criminal record
Once you receive a mark on your criminal record, you will find it significantly more difficult to get a job or be involved in anything that requires a background check, as the conviction will turn up and for most employers and many professional licensing agencies, a criminal record is instant grounds for dismissal.
Although a wide range of offenses fall under “disorderly conduct,” these are actually quite simple charges to defend. The Defenders are experienced in fighting these types of charges successfully, and want to help you build the strongest case possible. It is our goal to protect your rights and freedoms. Call us today to schedule an appointment for a consultation to discuss your case.